New Swimming North Coast leadership team in place

Photo by Christian Knight
Photo by Christian Knight

SWIMMING North Coast held its annual general meeting yesterday - and there's a host of new faces in the leadership while many volunteers were celebrated for their years of service.

Due to COVID restrictions the meeting was held via Zoom, instead of the usual face to face meeting at Woolgoolga, roughly the geographical centre of the Swimming North Coast area.

Forty-one delegates (including life members) from 20 clubs were on the webinar.

President Warren Phillips reported on a difficult year with bushfires, floods and COVID.

Registrars reported on the records broken over the period. Top club able-bodied was Trinity Lismore 95 records, with Tylah Crabtree being the most prolific record breaker.

For multi class the top club was Twin Towns swim team with 127 records, with only one swimmer, Samuel Gould, breaking accounting for all of them!

The Swimming North Coast Championships Division 1 will be held at Twin Towns Swim Team Pool, Oasis Pools, Banora Point, on November 21-22. The venue for Division 2 is to be determined, but it can be a club between Macksville and Maclean.

Technical Official of the Year was awarded to Ian Smith, Taree club.

Long Service Awards: 50 years to Chris Pearson from Macksville, 45 years to Ken McLennan from Woodenbong, 15 years to Helen Green from Twin Towns, 10 years to Michael Pontefract Casino, Don Law LWST, Jackie Nilon LWST, Virginia McKenna LWST, Jody Everson LWST, Ingrid Jensen Trinity Lismore, Jenny Warren Woodenbong, Chris Molyneux Laurieton, Mark Hammer Laurieton, and Michelle Kirkwood Laurieton.

A new strategic plan was endorsed from 2020 to 2025.

The management committee submitted notices of motion to change the Constitution to include Safeguarding Children and Young People Policy and Member Protection Policy.

The election of officers was a lively affair. In several positions, the nominee was re-elected: President Warren Phillips, vice-president South Joanne Hodgson Bellingen, secretary Jo Kilburn Kilburn Trinity Lismore, treasurer Helen Green Twin Towns, competition coordinator Andrew Jones Taree, Ann Pilkie Laurieton and Area technical swimming coordinator Jennie Riley Woodenbong.

New to the following positions are vice-president North Simon Watkins Trinity Lismore and development coordinator Kim Roach Sawtell.

Area Competition Committee: Peter Brack Kingslciff, Helen Green Twin Towns, Jo Kilburn Trinity Lismore, Alexandra Phillips Port Macquarie, Ann Pilkie Laurieton and Simon Watkins Trinity Lismore.

Area Development Committee: Helen Green Twin Towns, Jo Kilburn Trinity Lismore, Helen Phipps Coffs Harbour, Ann Pilkie Laurieton and Simon Watkins, Trinity Lismore (one still to be elected).

Area Technical Swimming Committee: Janelle Barnett Kempsey, Brian Grant Port Macquarie, Helen Green Twin Towns, Andrew Jones Taree, Ann Pilkie Laurieton, Faye Rowles Twin Towns and Simon Watkins Trinity Lismore.

Also making the news

This story New Swimming North Coast leadership team in place first appeared on The Macleay Argus.