Celebrating our homegrown heroes

Photo from @NorthBelloRFS Facebook page
Photo from @NorthBelloRFS Facebook page

A new category has been added to Bellingen Shire's Australia Day awards this year to honour and thank our firefighters.

Called 'Homegrown Heroes', it recognises the combined efforts of our shire's Rural Fire Services and Brigade firefighters, who have been tirelessly battling fires burning in and around our shire.

Individual awards will be presented to Superintendent Sean McArdle - District Manager, Ms Rachael Eggins - District Coordinator and Inspector Michael Brougham - District Officer.

Boggy Creek, Bostobrick, Brierfield, Darkwood, Deervale, Fernmount, Gleniffer, Hydes Creek, Kalang, Megan, North Bellingen, Repton, Scotchman, Thora, Urunga, Valery, Group 1 and Group 2 brigades will be presented with 'Homegrown Heroes' BrigadeAwards.

The Australia Day Awards Ceremony will be held on Friday January 24 at Bellingen Memorial Hall, Hyde Street.

The awards provide our community with the opportunity to recognise examples of outstanding achievement and recognise those who have given their time freely to help others.

Australia Day Award Winners will be announced at 6:30pm across a suite of categories including Citizen of the Year, Community Service and Community Group of the Year, Sportsperson and Junior Sportsperson of the Year, Sports Team of the Year, Creative Arts Award and Community Event of the Year.

There will also be a Welcome to Country, live musical performances and a visit by our official Australia Day Council Ambassador.

Another celebration to be held on Australia Day itself, Sunday January 26, at Morgo St Reserve Urunga, will include the citizenship ceremony.