Major triples champions in dramatic finish

Major triples champions Helen Fisher, Jo Bathgate  and Lynne Tarrant
Major triples champions Helen Fisher, Jo Bathgate and Lynne Tarrant

The long awaited final of the major triples was held on August 3 and it was one of the best matches seen at Urunga for a long time with a dramatic finish thrown in for good measure. 

Helen Fisher, Jo Bathgate  and Lynne Tarrant trailed Elaine Cameron, Sally Welsh and Lorraine Carlon until the 14th end when they drew level at 10 all.  On the 15th end  they hit the front 11 shots to 10 but undaunted, Elaine and her team drew level on the 18th end forcing a play-off. A determined  Helen and her mates kept their cool to emerge after the 19th end as major triples champions for 2017 by 16 shots to 13.  

The Elaine Hetherington Coach's Cup is set down for Saturday August 26 and is open to all bowlers who have not won a major singles or a major pairs championship. Entries close August 19. This is a 3-bowl pairs sets play event - 3 games each consisting of 2 sets of 7 ends. A blind draw for teams will be made by the Urunga Match Committee before the competition. Entry fee $20 which includes morning tea and lunch and the total prize money is $750.

Nominations for the major/minor pairs close August 10 with play starting August 17.  Check the men's noticeboard regarding nominations for the mixed fours championship to be played in September. 

Minor singles matches: Sally Welsh defeated Jo Bathgate 25/17, Lynne Tarrant defeated Lorraine Carlon 25/14; Ros Hancock defeated Jan Grogan 25/13.

Rink winners: Lynne Tarrant, Margaret Baldwin (marker); Janine Brown, Jenny Beecher, Jean Connor.  Raffles Jean Dew, Lynne Tarrant.