Changing of the Guard at Urunga RFB

Urunga Rural Fire Brigade are embracing change with Natasha Collins elected Brigade Captain at their recent Annual General Meeting.

Tash has been a volunteer with the NSW Rural Fire Service since 2006, active with the Nana Glen and Urunga Brigades, as well as spending the last four years as an auxiliary firefighter with QLD Fire & Emergency Services.

"Urunga Brigade are a great bunch of people that provide a wonderful service to the community. We are always on the lookout for new members and have recently created a Facebook page to provide information to our members and the residents of the Urunga area".

Tash has taken over the role of Brigade Captain from Craig Oates, who held the position for the last seven years. Craig remains active with the brigade and has taken on the position of Deputy Captain.

"Craig has been a mentor to many throughout his time as Captain. I would like to acknowledge his dedication to the Urunga Brigade and thank everyone who nominated for a position at the AGM".

Position holders are as follows:

Captain: Natasha Collins

Senior Deputy Captain: Kale Hardie-Porter

Deputy Captains: Craig Oates, Linda Sticker

President: Martin Williams

Secretary/Treasurer: Craig Oates    

Permit Issuing Officers: Natasha Collins, Kale Hardie-Porter, Craig Oates, Martin Williams

Equipment Officers: Dan Kelly, Garry Sills

For further information on volunteering with the NSW RFS visit the NSW RFS website at or phone the Coffs Harbour Fire Control Centre on 6651 6133.